top of page

Narration: Charlie King - a Cyclone Tracy survivor, Charlie has lived and worked in Darwin for over 40 years as a youth worker, sports broadcaster and as the founder of anti-violence campaign No More. There's barely a corner of the Northern Territory that Charlie King doesn't have a connection to. But none is stronger than Darwin. It's the place his parents met in the unlikeliest of circumstances.


Written and produced by Caddie Brain


Also featuring: Robbie Mills, Violet Mills, Caddie Brain, Felix Bertschi and Lewis Van Buchen


Consulting historians: Jared Archibald and Matthew Stephen


Field recordings and sound design: Caddie Brain

Sound engineer and production: James Mangohig

Mixing and mastering: Matthew Cunliffe

Script editor: Brendan Phelan

Design: Elliat Rich and Celia Neilson


Project support: Michael Barritt

Music: Daniel Hart, Chung Wah Lion Troop, Darwin Christ Church Cathedral congregation and Tex Morton

Recorded at: Studio G, East Point Reserve, Alice Springs Telegraph Station, Todd Tavern, Hotel Darwin, Deckchair Cinema, NT Parliament House, Star Arcade, Vic Arcade, Darwin Waterfront Precinct, Casuarina Coastal Reserve, Christ Church Cathedral, Nightcliff Foreshore, Undoolya Station, Watch This Space, Trevor's varandah and chook pen, Tash's house, Noosh and Adam's house and on the streets of Darwin.

With thanks to: Brendan Phelan, Katy Moir, CJ Fraser Bell, Angela O’Donnell, Cy Starkman and Red Hot Arts, Tega Brain, Sam Lavigne, Alex Davies, Kathy de la Rue, Rosa Ellen, Samantha Lillie, Jesse Thompson, Chris Cleanthous, Hayley Bawden, Heather Holt, Trevor Shiell, Anouska Zerna, Adam Nicholson, Carl Curtain, Rosalie Hiah and the Kwong Family, Natasha Bertschi, Claire Lewis, Edan Baxter, Mark Smith, Phillip Eaton, Alan Powell, Gaynor Lovett, Lawrence Wallace, Danny Crichton, Graham Borlace and Ron Thomas from the Morsecodians Fraternity, Alex Kelly, Caiti Baker, Tom Harris Jnr, Tom Harris Jnr Jnr, Robyn Smith and Michael Wells at the Northern Territory Heritage Branch, Austin Chin, Neville Jones and the staff at the Chinese Museum, the Christ Church Cathedral, Margret Curry, Suzanne Young, Samantha Wells and the staff at the Northern Territory Library, Emily Prichard and the staff at the Northern Territory Archives Centre, Alice Body and the crew at Deckchair Cinema, Sean Houston and Glen Barnes of My Tours, Mark Teakle and ZipPrint, Watch This Space and the team at Arts NT.

Dedicated to Mickey Dewar whose phenomenal research and inquiring spirit paved the way for this tour.

Narration: Dr Richard Fejo is a Larrakia Elder and custodian of Darwin through his father, grandfather and great grandfather He is an Honorary Doctor of Flinders University and Senior Elder on Campus, the Chairman of the Australia Day Council NT, Chair of Darwin Waterfront and a National Disability Insurance Agency Board Member. He is also a standup comedian.

Also featuring: Don Christopherson, Jared Archibald, Michael Mavromatis, Dave Collins, Rocket Bretherton, Melanie Bert, Michael Park, Russell Goldflam, Dan Milne, Oli Dubsky and Filip Laureys, Aayla the cat, and Riding for the Disabled horses Dino, Elvis, Honey, Storm, Taco and Zeus


Production and scripting by Johanna Bell and Caddie Brain


Sound design and editing by Caddie Brain


Music: Daniel Hart and Text Morton


Design: Elliat Rich and Celia Neilson


Recorded at: Subsonic by Matthew Cunliffe, Fannie Bay Gaol, East Point, Lee Point, Fogg Dam Conservation Reserve, Benny's garage, Yo’s kitchen, Riding for the Disabled, Heritage Caravan Park and the Women's Museum of Australia and Old Gaol Alice Springs with Cyclone Tracy sound courtesy of Rod Louey-Gung


With our deepest thanks to Louise Partos, Jared Archibald, Paige Taylor, Gillian Jones, Jessica Plant, Kate Fennell and the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory, Alice Woods, Beverley Lee, Brian Flanagan, Katherine Hamilton and the Library and Archives of the NT, Neville Jones and the Chung Wah Society, cntranslator, Aiden Plant, Rosa Ellen, Adrienne Mackenzie, Helen Haritos, George Frazis, Benny Andrews, Alyson Evans, Zac Terry, Dylan E Owen, Tom Hansford, Derek Pugh, Matt Ward, Morgan Rickard, Hamish Robertson, Darren McCallum, Paul Seden, Sam Pickering, Jano Gibson, Frank Miller, Sam Wood, Billy Moir, Charlie King, Ted Egan, Andrew Mills, Alice Bird, Lauren Yan, Tiffany Keane, Michael Barritt, Timothy Chatwin, Leah Jordan, Dianna Abu Ssaydeh, Caiti Baker, James Mangohig, Huni Bolliger, Watch This Space and Apollo and Morty the dogs


Produced in Darwin by StoryProjects for the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory, 2023.

bottom of page